What we pack for six months in Europe

We are leaving in a couple of days to get on the transatlantic cruise to Amsterdam.  We have a balcony on the cruise and plan to use it a lot.  So all the packing and things to do before we leave are being done.

Our sons are moved in.  The dogs are doing well.

We are packing ( oh no).  We take one rolling suitcase and one backpack each for the six months we will be away.  That means that I take very few clothes and they all are black and can be worn together.  For color and variety I pack scarves.  I pack in packing bags; the shirts, the pants, the underwear, the jacket all can be pulled out and used as needed.  I bring 2 pairs of shoes and a pair of saddles. It is not much but it leaves some room to pick up something irresistible .

 

There are some things that we bring from home because they are difficult to get in Ireland and England.   These are the special ear plugs I use, I love my husband but I still need to sleep.  Our vitamins and medications ( luckily we take only a few meds so that is easy).  My prepared journal and my journal tools.  We take a laptop computer, our phones, an ipad and a Magic Jack phone.  It is all very lightweight.  When you are getting on trains and buses in Europe there are no porters to help.  You must lug your bags up the train stairs very quickly as they only stop for a few minutes and there are lots of other people getting on.

 

The worst part of the trip is the flight to Fort Lauder dale.  I hate flying, it is so cramped.  That is the reason we will take a cruise over and a cruise back.  If you want to follow our adventures pet and house sitting please click the “follow” button and put in your email addy.  You will then get an email only when I post ( no one wants more emails than needed).  There will be very few posts on the 14 day cruise since the internet is difficult and expensive to use in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean.  Bon Voyage!

Leave a Reply

