I have time to correct and show some of my photos from the trip; so today the Vatican Museum

We were overwhelmed by the amount and quality of art and sculpture we saw in the Vatican Museum.  I wanted to share some of my favorite photographs from that experience.  This is a Roman sarcophagus that shows the amazing skills of those who made this stone coffin; vatican coffin wm  A marble dog holding the side of a doorway on its back. vm dog face 5x7 small  A set of small marble angels playing on a plaque; vatican angels wm  Many of the ceilings were beautiful frescoes of religious or Roman gods and goddesses , here is Neptune the god of the oceans; vatican roman mosaic Neptune corr wm  And here is a ceiling that illustrates bible scenes; vatican ceiling wm  And my favorite pieces are these angel musicians that were saved from a fresco from the church of SS Apostali in Rome.vatican angel 3 angels 5x7 wmvatican angel drum 5x7 wmvatican angel lute 2 5x5 wmvatican angel lute wmvatican angel shell 5x7 wm  I am reminded of how important museums are that save art from being destroyed and keep it for future generations to enjoy.  I will do another blog entry with more of my photos from our trip to share with youl

4 thoughts on “I have time to correct and show some of my photos from the trip; so today the Vatican Museum

Leave a Reply

